• University botanical garden
  • University botanical garden
  • University botanical garden
  • University botanical garden
  • Osnabrück University
  • Osnabrück University
  • German-French Summer School on nc-AFM

The school has ended ... thanks for coming!

The participants of the School

2nd German-French Summer School on noncontact AFM
at the
Universität Osnabrück (Germany)

After the splendid success of the 1st German-French Summer School on noncontact atomic force microscopy (NC-AFM) in 2013, a second event of this type is held on the campus of the Universität Osnabrück  (map) from September 12th to 16th 2016. The venue is the Bohnenkamp Haus (map), a meeting center embedded in the spectacular green architecture of the university botanical garden and tropical greenhouse.

The Summer School is a joint initiative of the CINaM institute (Aix-Marseille University/CNRS) in Marseille (France) and the Universität Osnabrück (Germany) to create a platform for high level education and scientific exchange in NC-AFM research.

The Summer School offers both, an introduction into NC-AFM and related techniques (EFM, KPFM and MFM) as well as in-depth presentations on topics in advanced NC-AFM imaging and force mapping. The target audience are students and young researchers, and the aim is to bring together newcomers with experts for extensive discussions in a relaxing atmosphere. Post-docs and senior researchers entering the field or seeking for an expansion of their knowledge are equally welcome.

We strongly encourage PhD students to submit an abstract for a poster presentation to show their recent scientific results and participate in the competition for the 3 NC-AFM awards.

The summer school is funded by the German-French University (Deutsch-Französische Hochschule, Université Franco-Allemande).


Adam Foster Aalto University Helsinki (FI)
Sébastien Gauthier CEMES Toulouse (FR)
Benjamin Grévin
CEA-CNRS-UJF Grenoble (FR)
Angelika Kühnle Johannes Gutenberg-Universität Mainz (DE)
Jeppe Lauritsen Aarhus University (DK)
Thierry Mélin
IEMN Lille (FR)
Laurent Nony IM2NP Marseille (FR)
Steffen Porthun RHK Technology (USA)
Philipp Rahe
University of Nottingham (UK)
Michael Reichling
Universität Osnabrück (DE)
André Schirmeisen Justus-Liebig Universität Gießen (DE)
Alexander Schwarz Universität Hamburg (DE)
Ralf Bechstein Johannes Gutenberg-Universität Mainz (DE)



Supporting institution



CNRS    Aix-Marseille University


Universität Osnabrück

Organizing institutions